7 Chakras of Vital Energy

7 Chakras of Vital Energy

Feelings, Perception, Energy, all these things can be unified under the term chakra. In Hindu metaphysical tradition and other belief systems, chakras are centres of Prāṇa, life force, or vital energy. In our body these are located along the central channel, so the ancient indian yogi intended to define the energy that runs through the spine from the bottom to the top and viceversa.

We can say that chakras are intersection points among different energetic levels of a person, in particular physical level, mental-emotional and spiritual level.

Seven are the main chakras and they are generally associated with a mantra seed-syllable, and often with a variety of colours and deities. Let’s have a look at them, starting right from the bottom.

Root Chakra (Muladhara chakra)

Colour: Red

Location: Base of the spine

Meaning: Emotional stability, harmony between body and mind and our connection with nature and earth. Root chakra is the most physical one and it represents our material body and survival issues’ satisfactions like food, water, air, together with financial independence, too.

Chakra Healing: Kundalini Yoga can be useful to open this chakra; take care of it with a diet rich in red colored foods, hot spices, red meat and vegetables from the ground.


Sacral Chakra (Swadhisthana chakra)

Colour: Orange

Location: Lower abdomen

Meaning: Pleasure, Sense of abundance, joy of life, well-being, creativity and a good sexuality.

Chakra Healing: Cobra Yoga pose can be useful to open this chakra. Take care of it with a diet rich in orange colored foods.


Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura chakra)

Colour: Yellow

Location: Upper abdomen, in the stomach area

Meaning: Self esteem, self-confidence, self-worth, personality, good relationship and goodwill.

Chakra Healing: Kundalili Yoga and dance can activate and stimulate this chakra; take care of it with a diet rich in yellow colored foods, fiber and grains.


Heart Chakra (Anahata chakra)

Colour: Green

Location: Center of chest

Meaning: Love, compassion, forgiveness, tenderness, it’s the chakra of feelings.

Chakra Healing: Bikram Yoga can activate and stimulate this chakra; take care of it with a diet rich in green colored vegetables and tea.


Throat Chakra (Vishudda chakra)

Colour: Blue

Location: Throat

Meaning: Communication and creativity are the characteristics of this chakra with the ability to express ourselves, our personality and attitude.

Chakra Healing: Singing and dance are good activity to open the chakra; take care of it with a diet rich in fruits.


Third Eye Chakra (Ajna chakra)

Colour: Indigo

Location: In the middle of the forehead

Meaning: Rationality, life purpose planning, ability to analyze, wisdom and imagination.

Chakra Healing: Yoga, eyes exercises and specific herbal oil treatments; take care of it with a diet with chocolate, purple colored fruits and some spices like lavander.


Crown Chakra (Sahasrara chakra)

Colour: White and purple

Location: The top of the head

Meaning: To be in contact with the spiritual dimension, to open up to the Divine, sense of bliss and self realization

Chakra Healing: Meditation, walking and running, outdoor activities. Sunbathing and fresh air for Crown Chakra.